Information, Requirements and Policies
We are committed to improving the quality of life for individuals and the community by offering learning opportunities to promote workforce, economic development and personal development. The concept of life-long learning is our commitment to our students, community, and industry needs. Both our on-line courses and interactive instructor-led classes offer flexible scheduling and are structured to accommodate your busy lifestyle. Although workforce and economic development are at the heart of what we provide, you will also find classes that serve our community through personal interest and cultural enrichment programs. From custom woodworking and stained glass classes to line dance, we offer programs that can enhance your life.
We appreciate and understand the needs of the citizens of Wayne and surrounding counties and strive to offer quality instruction that can prepare them for today’s changing workplace. Continuing Education courses are offered at various locations throughout the city of Goldsboro and Wayne County and we welcome requests for courses and suggestions for providing improved services to the area. If you have a particular training need or would like to learn more about how Continuing Education can assist you or your company, please give us a call or drop by our campus.
Continuing Education students may register early for classes in the Continuing Education Office (Walnut, Room 127) or the first day of class as shown in the schedule. Some classes have limited enrollment and will fill up quickly on a first-come, first-served basis.
Each college shall maintain an open-door admission policy to all applicants who are high school graduates or who are at least 18 years of age. Student admission processing and placement determination shall be performed by the officials of each college. Admission requirements for an emancipated minor shall be the same as for an applicant 18 years old or older. Provisions with respect to admission of minors are set forth in Rule 23 NCAC 2C.0305, in accordance with Community College Laws of North Carolina.
Board of Trustees may adopt policies regulating admission and graduation of students enrolled in courses mandated under G.S. 17C, North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission, or G.S. 17E, North Carolina Sheriffs’ Education and Training Standards Commission. These policies may limit enrollment to law enforcement officers or persons sponsored by law enforcement agencies and may require a student to maintain sponsorship by a law enforcement agency until completion of the program. Policies adopted pursuant to this paragraph shall be published and made available to students and prospective students.
A minor, 16 years old or older, may be considered a student with special needs and may be admitted to an appropriate program at a college if the local public or private educational agency determines that admission to the program is the best educational option for the students and the admission of such student to the program is approved by the college.
A high school student, 16 years old or older, based upon policies approved by the local, public, or private Board of Education and Board of Trustees, may be admitted to appropriate courses, except adult high school, concurrently under the following conditions:
a. Upon recommendation of the chief administrative school officer and approval of the president of the college;
b. Upon approval of the student’s program by the principal of the school and the president of the college;
c. Upon certification by the principal that the student is taking at least three high school courses and is making appropriate progress toward graduation.
High school students taking courses pursuant to the above paragraphs shall not displace adults but may be admitted any semester on a space-available basis to any continuing education course. Once admitted, they shall be treated the same as all other students. Reference 23 NCAC 2C.305 from Community College laws of N.C.
Refund Policy for Continuing Education Services
The refund policy for Continuing Education courses, as established by the N.C. State General Assembly, allows a 75% refund, after the respective class begins, upon the request of the student if the student officially withdraws from the class prior to or on the 10 percent point of the scheduled hours of the class. A 100% refund shall be made if the student officially withdraws prior to the first day of class of the academic semester or term as noted in the college calendar. Also, a student is eligible for a 100% refund if the class in which the student is officially registered is cancelled due to insufficient enrollment. A 100% refund shall be made if the student officially withdraws from a contact hour class prior to the first day of class of the academic semester or term or if the college cancels the class. A 75% refund shall be made if the student officially withdraws from a contact hour class on or before the tenth calendar day of the class. There are no refunds for self-supporting classes. Under this policy, the college shall notify the student of the right to receive a refund at the time of official withdrawal.
Occupational Extension Course Repetition Policy
A student who takes an occupational class more than twice is required to pay a fee to be determined using the computation below. For example, the first and second time a student takes an occupational extension class, the fee will be based on the sliding fee scale (see below). The third and subsequent times will be based on the number of hours that the class meets multiplied by $6.80. Example: 33 hours x $6.80 = $224.40 registration fee. Senior citizens (65 or older) are eligible to take a class free of charge, will also be required to pay for classes they take more than twice. Recent changes to Section 8.4(a) amends G.S 115D-5(b) to authorize the waiver of one course of noncredit (Occupational Extension) instruction per academic semester for legal residents of North Carolina age 65 or older. Students are primarily responsible for monitoring class repetitions; however, the college shall review records and charge students full cost for classes taken more than twice. Students are exempt from this policy if class repetition is required for certification, recertification, or licensure. Recent changes to Section 8.4(a) amends G.S. 115D-5(b) to authorize the waiver of one course of noncredit (Occupational Extension) instruction per academic semester for legal residents of North Carolina age 65 or older.
SLIDING FEE SCALE:
1 to 24 hours – $65.00
25 to 50 hours – $120.00
51+ hours – $175.00
NOTE: Charges are subject to change based on budget.
Computer Technology Fee
Pursuant to the North Carolina Administrative Code, Title 23 NCAC, paragraph 2D.0201, a NON-REFUNDABLE Computer Technology Fee of $5.00* dollars will be charged each semester to all individuals who take computer courses through the Continuing Education Division. This technology fee is charged only once during a semester, regardless of how many computer classes an individual may register for and take. The technology fee was established to support the purchase, operations, and repair of computers and other instructional technology, including the supplies and materials which support computer technology. This fee also supports Continuing Education computer classes held off campus at various locations. If you have any questions concerning the Computer Technology Fee, please contact the Continuing Education Services Division at 919-739-6900. *Fee subject to change.
Student Accident Insurance And Parking Fee
Students are required to pay a $1.25 Student Accident Insurance Fee for all Continuing Education courses that meet four or more weeks during a semester. This fee is paid once during a semester regardless of the number of classes taken. Both day and night students are required to display a parking decal. The Student Parking Fee is $2.00. Parking decals must be purchased in the Continuing Education Office at the time of registration. Click here to download the Student Accident Insurance Fee Wavier form. If you have any questions concerning the Student Accident Insurance or Parking Fee, please contact the Continuing Education Services Division at 919-739-6900.